UnityNinja Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

UnityNinja CommunityLog in

UnityNinja - Video Game Development Community, including Resources, Forums, Marketplace & More.

descriptionReferring integers between scripts in C# - NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object EmptyReferring integers between scripts in C# - NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object

more_horiz
Hello, I'm a bit new in C# and Unity and I've come across a problem with referring integers between two files. My code looks basically like (only those parts that are connected with my problem):

PlayerController.cs :

public Button  AtakujBtn;
    public int StartHP = 100, StartDMG = 10, MyHP = 100,
    ZombieScript zombieScript;
    void Start()
    {
        zombieScript = this.GetComponent<ZombieScript>();
        Button Atakuj_button = AtakujBtn.GetComponent<Button>();
        Atakuj_button.onClick.AddListener(AtakujZmb);
    }
    public void AtakujZmb()
    {
        zombieScript.ZombieAttack(ref StartDMG, ref StartHP, ref MyHP);
    }

and ZombieScript.cs:

public GameObject InfoZmb, Zombie, ZombieAlive, ZombieDead;
    public int ZombieHP = 100, ZombieBasicHP = 100;
    public Text hpText, zombieHPText;

public void ZombieAttack(ref int StartDMG, ref int StartHP, ref int MyHP)
    {
        int PlayerATK = Random.Range(StartDMG * 2, StartDMG * 4);
        ZombieHP -= PlayerATK;
        zombieHPText.text = "Zombie HP: " + ZombieHP + "/" + ZombieBasicHP;
        if (ZombieHP > 0)
        {
            int ZombieATK = Random.Range(10, 30);
            MyHP -= ZombieATK;
            hpText.text = "HP: " + MyHP + " / " + StartHP;
        }
        else if (ZombieHP <= 0)
        {
            ZombieAlive.SetActive(false);
            ZombieDead.SetActive(true);
            ZombieHP = ZombieBasicHP;
        }
    }

The error name in Console is: